It would be a lie not to admit the fact that I have been struggling with this for quite some time now. You can read it from my previous post, and in fact, this is basically the reason I put up this blog online – to release the pain the memories left and to unleash all of the buried thoughts and emotions that those memories keeps on bringing back out.

If you’re like me, I’m pretty sure you’re looking for ways to control these emotions. Memories of the past will always be there, and I’m sure you’re looking for ways on how to deal with these crazy roller coaster of feelings and trying to find a safe place in doing so.

Well, I got you, and I know how you feel. I’m still there, going through all of that. I think this can apply for any hurtful memories – not only from our exes but also from any traumatic experiences…but mostly for exes. 🙂

Because just when you think that love shattered you, it is also LOVE that will ultimately heal you.

whereliestheheart.wordpress.com

Let Go and Let God

I know this is easier said than done. But trust me, it works. I can never count the times that God had helped me cope up with the hurts of my own doings. Tell Him every bits and pieces of how you feel and how these memories affect your daily life. Because He cares. Because He loves you no matter what your past was and you are important to Him. He Knows what happened and what’s happening to you so there’s no holding back. To Him, we all can share our deepest worries with no prejudice words hitting us in the face because He is just there to listen and soothe our worries away. In prayer, it’s between you and God and no one else, so it’s definitely a safe haven. Let go and Let God take all your concerns away.

Let Go and Focus on the Present

Regardless of your past, and regardless of the feeling those memories evoke on your present life, remember that those are just memories. Hard as it may sound, those are just in your head. It will never affect you if you won’t let it. Remember that you have your now, and focus your energy on that. I admit I struggle with this sometimes, but God has already let me move on from the hurtful past, and it’s a way of gratitude to Him to be content and be happy with my present. Your memories are just in your head and your present matters more now than than ever. Focus on the present and don’t let the memories bother you anymore.

Let Go and Let love in (Again)

I know. For some of us, opening up yourself to that vulnerable part of you that has been shattered in the past, is a daunting thing to just even think about. But think about this, ‘Love conquers all‘. If God leads you in a safe place where you know and feel that you will be loved and appreciated, regardless of your past, I believe it is worth your effort to slowly start opening yourself up again. Let love in. If that is a specific individual, let them love you even if you still can’t. There will come a moment in time that you will realize you finally found the one for you – who will love you no matter what you have gone through and who will protect you and respect you and give you everything – because they understand your worth. Because just when you think that love shattered you, it is also LOVE that will ultimately heal you.

Friends, I still struggle with this, but this 3 things that I mentioned, continually help me move forward on my own life. I have to continually remind myself that memories are just in my head now.

I hope these help you as well as it does me and may you not struggle alone.

Leave a comment